Posted by: Precious | September 15, 2010

Gluten-free(grain-free), dairy-free chocolate cake

I promise it won't taste like beans!

You’re not gonna believe that this cake is made from garbanzo beans!  I guarantee that it will not have a beany taste, it’s just decadent and delicious!  It looks more like a moist brownie.

I actually found this recipe on Allrecipes.com but I’ve modified it a little.  I’ve also made it without eggs.  To substitute for eggs I used ground flaxseed and a pureed prunes, I just don’t remember the exact measurements now.

Ingredients:

4 organic eggs

1 can of organic garbanzo beans, soaked for 12 hours with 1 tsp lemon and rinsed well

1/2 tbsp baking powder

1 1/2 cups of Enjoy Life chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave or double broiler.

In a blender, mix garbanzo beans and eggs. When mixed, add the melted chocolate and baking powder.  Blend until there are  no clumps.

Pour mix into a greased cake pan or a glass square pan(this is what I used).  Bake for 40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Serve with the homemade confectioner sugar sprinkled on top (see recipe below).

Confectioner Sugar recipe (corn-free):

1 cup Domino’s sugar

1 tbsp arrowroot starch (tapioca starch is fine too)

Blend in a coffee grinder or in a Magic Bullet if you have one.  I have a Magic Bullet and it’s been one of the best kitchen gadget for me so far!

Sprinkle on the cake! Enjoy!

Responses

  1. Thanks for this Thea. We’re not GF, but I would really like to try this recipe. It looks delicious!

    • I hope you like it Liz! Let me know how it goes when you decide to make it.

  2. Oh T, this sounds yummy, even though I’m not GF, I might have to try it soon!

    Keep on blogging!!! 🙂

    • Thanks girlfriend! So glad you stopped by! I hope you like this cake when/if you decide to make it. ❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

